IRF Road Scholar Fellowship & Jerry Shea Award

I was one of the 30 fellows of the 2015 International Road Federation (IRF) Road Scholar Program.  These 30 fellows come from 22 different countries and, together, we spent 9 days of intense leadership training and team building activities.  We also attended the 94th TRB Annual Meeting and visited several international and U.S. organizations, such as the World Bank Group, the Federal Highway Administration, and the Turner-Fairbank Highway Research Center.  This program is by far the best fellowship program I have ever been part of and I highly recommend it to everyone.  Below is a picture of all 30 fellows outside of the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO) in Washington D.C.

2015 IRF Road Scholar Fellows in front of AASHTO2015 IRF RSP Fellows outside of AASHTO (Photo courtesy of Mike Dreznes)

 2015-IRF-Fellows-238Me taking action during the IRF Fellows Reunion dinner (Photo courtesy of IRF)


By the end of the Road Scholar Program, all 30 fellows turned in nominations of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd best leaders in the class and each of the nominees receive 3, 2, or 1 points respectively.  The winner gets the Jerry Shea Award and then serves as the president of the class, whose role is primarily keeping the class together.  I was very fortunate and honored to be selected as the winner of the Jerry Shea Award.  Below is a picture of me receiving the award from Mr. Patrick Sankey, the President & CEO of the International Road Federation.

Awarded the Jerry Shea Award from the President & CEO of the International Road Federation

Mr. Patrick Sankey & I (Photo courtesy of Prajwol Tamrakar)


You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.